What are “Push” notifications?
A Push notification, also called server push notification, is the delivery of information from a software application to a computing device without a specific request from the client. Unlike pull notifications, in which the client must request information from a server, push notifications originate from a server. Typically, the end user must opt-in to receive alerts; opt-in usually takes place during the install process and end users are provided with a way to manage alerts if they change their minds later on.
An important advantage of push notifications in mobile computing is that the technology doesn’t require specific applications on a mobile device to be open in order for a message to be received. This allows a smartphone to receive and display social media or text message alerts even when the device’s screen is locked and the social media application that is pushing the notification is closed. Different devices and services rely on different methods to deliver push notifications. Apple developers, for example, can use the Apple Push Notification Service’s Developers application programming interface (APIs) to have their apps deliver push notifications to iOS devices. Another approach is to use mobile backend as a service (mobile BaaS) cloud services to provide push notification functionality for a mobile app.
What does “Viral” mean?
Viral is anything shared across social networks that get passed along rapidly. YouTube videos are a great example.
What about “Trending”?
“Trending” is a word, phrase or topic that is popular on Twitter at a given moment.
What’s a “Wiki”?
A “Wikis” are simple web pages that can be edited by other users.
And a “Blog”
A “Blog” is a website updated frequently by an individual or group to record opinions or information.
What does “Web 2.0” mean?
This refers to the second generation of the Web which means people now blog and create websites without needing specialized technical knowledge and training.
What’s “Search Engine Optimization”?
It’s the process of organizing your website to give it the best chance of appearing near the top of search engine rankings.
What is “User Generated Content”?
An article I read recently describes UGC as being Latin for “crap” which is, quite frankly, well-put. UGC is anything published online by the Average Joe.
What is “tagging” in Facebook?
When you tag someone, you create a link to their profile. The post you tag the person in may also be added to that person’s Timeline. For example, you can tag a photo to show who’s in the photo or post a status update and say who you’re with. If you tag a friend in your status update, anyone who sees that update can click on your friend’s name and go to their profile. Your status update may also show up on that friend’s Timeline. When you tag someone, they’ll be notified. Also, if you or a friend tags someone in your post, the post could be visible to the audience you selected plus friends of the tagged person. Tags in photos and posts from people you aren’t friends with may appear in Timeline review where you can decide if you want to allow them on your Timeline. You can also choose to review tags by anyone, including your friends.
What is a “Badge” used for in Facebook?
A Badge is a personalized box you create to share your Facebook profile, photos, or Page on other websites.
What is the “News Feed” used for in Facebook?
Your News Feed is a constantly updating list of stories in the middle of your homepage. It includes status updates, photos, videos, links, App activities, and Likes from the people, Pages, and Groups you’re associated with.
What is a “Poke”?
People use the Poke feature when they want to get someone’s attention or say hello. When you Poke someone, they’ll receive a notification letting them know that they’ve been poked and by whom.
What is The “Ticker”?
The Ticker is positioned on the right side of your homepage and is updated with your friends’ activities in real-time. You can use it to keep up with the latest news as it happens, listen to music with your friends, or hover over a story to join in the conversation.
What is The “Timeline”?
Your Timeline is where you can see your posts or posts you’ve been tagged in displayed by date. It’s also part of your Profile.
What are “Social Plugins”?
Social Plugins are tools that other websites can use to provide people with personalized and social experiences. When you interact with social plugins, you share your experiences off Facebook with your friends on Facebook.
What’s the “Timeline Review”
This is a tool that lets you approve or reject posts that you’ve been tagged in before they go on your Timeline. When people you’re not friends with tag you in a post, they automatically go to Timeline review.